I have more books by Susan Page Davis in my library than any other author. She's written more than 60 books, in an impressive array of genres. Her stories are always interesting, clean, with an element of Christian faith in each story. Susan Page Davis is possibly the most consistent author I've read: I can always count on a good story. Most of her early, out of print books are now available for Kindle, which makes me very happy.

Ladies' Shooting Club SERIES

The Sheriff's Surrender

Historical fiction author Davis churns out another folksy, lighthearted story set in 1885 about a not-so-feminine heroine who shoots better than most men. Gert Dooley has spent years caring for her widowed brother, Hiram, who is Fergus, Idaho's, only gunsmith, and that position strategically places her to practice shooting all types of firearms. Second to none, Gert sets up a women's shooting club after a killer comes to town, and while the womenfolk are eager to learn from Gert's experienced hands, the men in town balk. As Gert trains her friends to protect themselves, she finds herself strangely attracted to the new sheriff, Ethan Chapman. Slowly the two begin a dance, and who knows which one will fire the first shot of romance. Davis's evenly paced tale, kicking off a new series.

You Shouldn't Have

“I SAW MY NEIGHBOR MURDER HIS WIFE!” But the police don’t believe Petra Wilson. They insist she was mistaken. There’s no body, no evidence, no murder. But Petra knows what she saw. And now her dangerous neighbor knows it, too. She needs protection, needs someone to believe in her. She turns to her sisters for comfort, but does not tell them of the danger she’s in. They introduce her to private investigator Joe Tarleton. Petra tells Joe her story, expecting him to decide there is no case. But the dedicated P.I. accepts her word, and he vows to uncover the truth. Still, he can’t guard Petra twenty-four hours a day. In spite of her precautions, her neighbor makes inroads in her vulnerability. Petra is left open to a killer intent on silencing the only living witness.This clean romantic suspense novel includes a Christian faith journey. Group discussion questions are included.

Maine Justice SERIES

The Priority Unit

There are seven books in this detective series. From Book 1: A missing man. A mysterious computer program – Even the people constructing it don’t know what it will do. When Harvey Larson and the Priority Unit investigate the disappearance of software designer Nick Dunham, he meets a young woman who will change his life. Jennifer Wainthrop was the last person to admit seeing Dunham alive. Harvey and his partner, Eddie Thibodeau, stay a step ahead of a bomber and put together the clues that tell the truth: Harvey finds strength in his faith as he attempts to save Jennifer from the same grim fate that claimed Nick. But Jennifer must depend on her own wits and God alone when the killer gets too close.

Captive Trail

Taabe Waipu flees her Comanche village. Somewhere in southern Texas her real family lives in the white world. For years she’s struggled to keep the memories from fading. She stole a horse and escaped, but after an accident, she is left on foot, injured and exhausted. She staggers onto a road near Fort Chadbourne and collapses. On one of the first mail runs through Texas, Butterfield Overland Mail Company driver Ned Bright come across Taabe, who is nearly dead from exposure and dehydration, and takes her to a nearby Ursuline mission. With some detective work, Ned discovers Taabe Waipu's real identity. He plans to reunite her with her white family, but the Comanche have other ideas. Taabe and Ned learn the true meaning of healing and restoration amid seemingly hopeless situations.

The Crimson Cipher

It’s 1915. When Emma Shuster’s code-breaker father is found murdered and his secret encryption project left unfinished, the Navy offers Emma a civilian position cracking intercepted ciphers sent by foreign powers. Saboteurs are doing their best to keep the United States out of the Great War. Bridges and factories are being bombed, and ships are being sunk. With enemies lurking at every turn, can she trust even those closest to her? Another favorite story by Susan Page Davis.

Counterfeit Captive

Orphaned at age twelve, Carmela Wade has lived a lie orchestrated by her uncle, pretending to be a survivor of an Indian kidnapping and profiting from telling her made-up story. But as she matures into adulthood, she hates the deceit and longs to be free. On a stagecoach in Arizona Territory, Carmela and her uncle are fellow passengers with U.S. Marshal Freeland McKay and his handcuffed prisoner. When the stage is attacked, a chance to make a new life is suddenly within Carmela's reach ... if she can survive the harsh terrain and being handcuffed to an unconscious man.